Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer

So, the saga ends and I have to say, the "ending" was anti-climatic and there is no more? 

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer & U is for Undertow by Sue Grafton

Two weeks - two books.  Loved no. 3 in the Twilight series, just starting the 4th and seriously hooked already.  Sue Grafton's latest didn't hook me in the same way others have didn't have the zip I'm used to, entertaining tho.  Maybe I need to take a break after this final many books, so little time.  Have a great week.

Monday, December 7, 2009

I, Alex Cross by James Patterson

Remember the phrase, "Where's the Beef?"  well unfortunately, that's how I'm feeling about this newest Alex Cross novel.  As always the idea/basic story is intriguing but I'm feeling short-changed?  The personal, family story is sound, the mystery is scary enough I guess I just wish it had been longer?  Took less than 24 hours to read the book.  Fortunately, it is Monday and I know that Trish is bringing in the third book in the Twilight series for me!!

OK, so two other people have now read this book and I was being generous in my earlier review, this book is a rip off!  I guess if my name was James Patterson I could dump anything onto the unsuspecting public and make a couple more million!

Sunday, December 6, 2009

New Moon by Stephanie Meyer

Trish was right, I am loving the Twilight series. Just finished New Moon and can't wait to read the next one. Stephanie Meyer is an excellent writer and has hooked me as well as millions of other readers. The next book is titled, Eclipse, can't wait! I learned last week that Ms. Meyer got the idea for these books in DREAMS! LOVE IT!

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Bone by Bone by Carol O'Connell

Okay, so I don't review books I just read a lot and tell you about the books I've read. I just wanna say, I loved this book! You should read it and give me your opinion!

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Just finished Twilight by Stephanie Meyer the story is great but the writing is WONDERFUL! Ms. Meyer writes almost lyrically, you just get on the bus and enjoy the ride!

Saturday, November 14, 2009

November 14, 2009
Just finished reading Guardian of Lies, took 9 days which seems like a long time. It was interesting, spy stuff apparently based on facts from the 1960's Missile Crisis w/Cuba when JFK was President. According to the last chapter the author believes we are in a dangerous position with our southern neighbors, Mexico and I don't find this difficult to believe considering that the US is in a pretty vulnerable position with most of the world. I think I need to switch genre's as I seem to be getting in a rut with this type of book. I will give Twilight a shot - Trish's strong recommendation!

Sunday, November 8, 2009

Favorite Authors

November 8, 2009

Carolyn Keene yes, that would be the pseudonym for the Nancy Drew books. Yes, my first reading addiction started with Nancy Drew. My Mom would bring them home for me - they cost $1.50 when I was a teenager - high ticket item. :)

Currently, I read John Sanford, James Patterson, Mitch Alblom, Harley Jane Kozak, Brennan etc. that's all I remember but I'll be back.

I'm currently reading...

November 8, 2009
Guardian of Lies by Steve Martini its ok, halfway through...books in line for this week include Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. Trish says I have to read this book - its great and its on all the best seller lists. Then I picked up Bone by Bone by Carol O'Connell. Ok, I admit one of the motivating factors in choosing this book by a new to me author was the fact that the story is based in Northern California - yes, I am somewhat obsessed by my home state. I've only been away for 4 3/4 years I'm sure this is a condition I will eventually recover from, hmmm I wonder if there are any pharmaceuticals available? So, that's the line up for this week, but still need to muddle through Guardian of Lies, don't I? :(

Saturday, November 7, 2009

Run for Your Life by James Patterson & Michael Ledwidge

Fast & fun! James P. does it again, read this book in 2.5 days!

Saturday, October 31, 2009

Rough Country, John Sanford


I enjoyed this book but I always enjoy John Sanford. The story is well paced and scary enough.

Wednesday, October 28, 2009

My first blog.

This will be a spot for me to tell you about the books I read!